chronicle #5 a foxtrot above my head

September 20, 2011 § Leave a comment

Adam Young is that man who sings like crazy and likes stating the obvious. According to himself, there’s nothing easier than stating the obvious, but according to me, there’s nothing more revealing than this either. Maybe we just don’t state the obvious enough everyday. He has this twitter thread saying “Reality is a lovely place but I wouldn’t like to live there.” Yeah. Here we are, this guy doesn’t exactly live in the same world as us. His new album clearly says it, being entitled “All things bright and beautiful”. Dammit, you’ll say, this guy’s a dreamer. Well, for sure.

On stage, wearing a shirt and a grey sort of satin waistcoat, he’s dancing madly with his guitar. What’s amazing is that he can play all the instruments, from the drums to the piano. He’s accompanied by a charming young woman, singing and playing the synthesizer next to him, Breane. She must be the one singing with him on “The Saltwater Room” I think when I hear her low-pitch mellow voice. What was I expecting exactly when I bought that ticket for Owl City’s concert in the Bataclan last Saturday? Well, I guess something softer, less pop-rock, more electro-soft maybe. Well SURPRISE it had the taste of indie rock. That synthetic smooth studio sound got completely absorbed into the energetic eclectic rock sound. So Owl City’s really a rock composer in the end! So, good surprise. the melody of Fireflies, and Hello Seattle got sublimed in a powerful show. Well, he said it himself, Bright and Beautiful.

I left surrounded with a very positive energy.

Circle me and the needle moves gracefully
Back and forth
If my heart was a compass, you’d be North
Risk it all cause I’ll catch you if you fall
Wherever you go
If my heart was a house, you’d be home

“If my heart was a house” from Album OCEAN EYES

I must admit all the songs sound alike just because the chords are majors and basically the same, sometimes I can’t recognise one song from the other. I must admit Owl City’s not the Kooks or the Smiths. But I praise him and his shows because he’s bright, bright, bright and hopeful. He displays this kind of feeling that encourages you to the skies and supports your strength. This music can sound teenage-directed (and there were quite a lot of teenagers in the venue — but also parents with children!) but, well, we need light. Yes. Sometimes, we do.

Chase your dreams, and remember me, speak bravery,
Because after all those wings will take you, up so high,
So bid the forest a fond goodbye, as you brace the wind and,
Take to the sky

“To the Sky” (Sountrack for animation movie Owls of Ga’Hoole)

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Words are lost treasures. Spread them:

What’s this?

You are currently reading chronicle #5 a foxtrot above my head at T&D.

meta

